Sunday, May 29, 2011

EXCLUSION comp. LP (nab001)

OK, let's start with the begining.
EXCUSION was thought as a one off projest at the time when NABATE was not a label but an anarchist micro shop, or info-shop, in 1987. I did not know that I was starting a records label for the next ten years to come.
Compiling an album is a nightmare and many have given up before it comes to reality. People don't answer, loose your letters, delay, bands break up, etc etc.. NABATE was Manu and me at the time. We started the EXCLUSION as a anti-sexist project with three friends from Paris. But we ended up doing our own separate things, since we didn't agree on many things. I won't detail this here, I'm not sure I can even remember! Anyway, back to our compilation, Manu & I eventualy finnished the booklet and compiled everything and got it from the pressing plant end of 1989. It is a time when I still didn't know what the hell was a "mastering". Sadly the pressing plant didn't wanna know either for this release, probably believing it was a just loads of crap. At the time there was no internet to google "mastering", we only had a typewriter. We gave everything to the pressing plant and one day one of the manager called us and asked us to come and listen if there was no mistake. This pressing plant was in the middle of nowhere, especially for people like us with no vehicule! We took the train, then the bus (one every 1h30 hours) to listen that the track of HHH, that was so fast that they thought there was something wrong...
Here is the track list:
1. Atavistic(uk) - Common Ground (3:23)
2. Active Minds (uk) - not your property (1:36)
3. Dona Nobis Pacem (b) - Ballade of Nature (4:40)
4. Pariapunk (fr) - Indifference (1:29)
5. So Much Hate (nor) - Poor Little Macho (2:00)
6. Satanic Malfunction (uk)- Sexual Freedom? I Think Not (2:33)
7. Revulsion (uk) - World Without Hate (4:35)
8. Pleasant Valley Children (uk) - What The World Needs Now (2:37)
9. Dissent (us) - Another's Eyes (3:57)
10. Cringer (us) - Triangle (3:25)
11. Cringer (us) - Take Back The Night (1:15)
12. Dawn Of Liberty (b) - Blockade (3:26)
13. HHH (sp) - Jim (1:41)
14. Culture Shock (uk) - Joyless (3:05)
15. The Ex (nl) - Balcony (2:53)

I could comment tracks and bands but I guess this would be too long and you are probably not interested to read all my blurb anyway. So here is the link to the rar file with the whole album. It was pressed at 1043, came with a big 32p booklet, silk screened postcard and a translation of Sarah's booklet "Hunger Strike" in french. I guess it was not a very sensible idea to make all this for "only" a thousand lucky few. Anyway here it is at last, the music.

Right click here and save it in your computer as you should know.

I thought it was important to share those realease (more to come), it takes me quiet a lot of work, but it's damned good to remember that time. I hope you will enjoy...


ray ss said...

thank you for making this available to us. thank you for this and all your postings aswell thanks for the actual releases themselves in the past i have bought many nabate releases and and a big fan of the label
take cAre
peace out
ray ss

al said...

Thank you RAY, all pleasure! Did we ever met during the UNHINGED US tour?
take care! AL





Anonymous said...

Thanks a lot for this effort to upload all this stuff!